Uni Style Fit

IMG_20160202_212317603_HDR[1]

February is the month of InCoWriMo, or International Correspondence Writing Month. Obviously, InCoWriMo cannot go by without a stationery review. Today, I will be reviewing my favorite multipen, the Uni Style Fit. As always, you can scroll to the bottom for a tl;dr, unless you want an in-depth review — then block of text it is!

So what is so great about the Style Fit? I mean, you could get a four pack of multi pens from the 99 cent store. The greatest thing about the style fit is that you can customize it to your tastes. There are other brands of customizable multipens such as the Pilot Coleto which uses the famed Hi-Tec refills, and there’s the Zebra brand. I’ve only ever tried the Coleto and the Style Fit, and in my opinion the Style Fit is much better. However, that comparison review will be saved for another day, or knowing my blogging habits, probably another year. Sorry! To keep it short, I think the Style Fit writes smoother than the Coleto, which skips occasionally.

Anyway, back to the greatness of the Style Fit. This is a pen that you pretty much build from the bottom up. Okay, I lied, the components are pre-made, but YOU choose the components. If you just want a single pen, you can buy the style fit in single pen form, as you can see in the picture above. These single pens are very thin, and do not have a clip. You can also buy barrels that can hold three components, or five components. Barrels come in different materials such as plastic, and sleeker metal barrels.

Enough about barrels. There are many options to fill these barrels. There’s gel ink refills (0.28mm, 0.38mm, 0.5mm), ball point refills (0.7mm, 1.0mm), and mechanical pencil (0.5mm). I think there might even be oil based refills. There are at least 15 different ink colors for the gel refills. Basically, this pen is customizable to your favorite ink colors and ink types. No more standard 0.7mm red, blue, green, and black ballpoint, but if that’s your thing, you can make it too!

pixlr_20160202214131336[1]

The ink refills come in these little plastic tubes. The tip is encased in a little cap to keep the ink from drying out. Another good thing about these customizable multipens is that when one of your colors run out, you can just pop in a replacement. Premade 99cent store multipens don’t have that option.

IMG_20160202_213729066[1]

The ink also writes VERY smoothly. I can write in cursive using the 0.28mm tip without the ink skipping. Above the black 0.38mm looks like it’s skipping, but that’s because I ran out of black ink. Oops, time to go shopping.

However, I do find that the 0.28mm tip is a little too fine for me. It can feel a little scratchy at times, but that’s probably because I’m accustomed to 0.38mm and 0.5mm tips.

The gel ink also dries very quickly, no more smearing ink and walking around with the side of your hand all colorful. This quick drying might be a result of the thin tips, and not necessarily the ink itself.

IMG_20160202_222029676[1]

The gel inks are fairly water resistant as well. I put a drop of water on my finger, and dragged it across the violet -> black in the picture above. The ink barely budged.

IMG_20160202_212351311_HDR[1]

I have a Hello Kitty 5-component Uni Style fit, and it has a clear bottom. This allows me to see which color I’m clicking down. If you look at the first image, the clicky part doesn’t show the color of the ink, so without this clear bottom, I would need to guess what color I’d be using.

There are some cons to this pen. I mean, don’t get me wrong. I absolutely love this pen, and it’s my favorite multi-pen. The major con is that it gets expensive quickly! Each gel ink refill costs $1.50-$2.00 depending where you buy it. There’s also the cost of the barrel itself. That five component pen above easily cost more than $10 with all of its parts. However, keep in mind these are Uni pens. If you were to buy individual Uni gel pens the price would be comparable. Also, these pens aren’t exactly eco-friendly. Each refill comes in a plastic tube, which results in a lot of plastic for one pen.


Uni Style Fit

Price: $1.50-$2.00 per ink refill, Barrels priced depending on size + material

Components: Gel Ink (0.28mm, 0.38mm, 0.5mm), Ballpoint (0.7mm, 1.0mm), Mechanical Pencil

Sizes: Single Component, Three Components, Five Components

Recommend? Yes! I can only speak for the gel refills, but they’re amazing!

tl;dr: Customize your pen with the ink colors, ink types, and tip sizes you want within your budget.

 

Leave a Reply

