Zebra Airfit

airfit main

Okay, I know what you’re thinking. Woah, Marlie! You’re awfully prolific this week! You’ve probably posted more this week, than you did last year!

My friend recently gave me a Zebra Airfit pencil and ballpoint pen, which I will be reviewing down below!

IMG_20160109_232025492

The Zebra Airfits are both attractive and affordable. The barrels come in a variety of colors. They run at about $5.00 each. I particularly like the white+blue color combo, which is the pen. The models I will be reviewing are the standard sizes; I believe they also come in a slim model. The bodies of the pen are plastic, while the ends and bendy part of the clip are metal. The pen & pencil are both lightweight.

airfit writing

The Zebra Airfit pen has a 0.7mm tip, but feels like a finer tip. It writes like a standard ballpoint pen; the ink is nothing to write home about. The pencil takes 0.5 lead.

airfit tip

The tip of the pencil is retractable, which is a good thing if you don’t like poking holes in your pencil pouches or pockets.

airfit grip

The selling point of this line of pens and pencils is the grip, hence the name AIRFIT. Here I’ve removed the bottom so you can see the grip in action. Ignore my ashy fingers and ugly nails. The grip looks like it would be cushy and fun to squish, but I disagree. These grips are not at all like the Uni Alpha grips. These grips are VERY firm, and hard to squish. If you grip your pens and pencils very tightly, these might be the grips for you. In order for me to squish the grip like in the second picture, I had to use a lot of force. These are not at all like air cushions.

airfit clip

Now here is the TRUE selling point of this line, the clip. I swear, this clip is indestructible by accidental means. Pretty much all of my pens and pencils with clips have broken clips, because I like to play-snap them. These clips are meant to be squeezed and snapped. Look how wide the clip is. Okay, the last few sentences sound kinda weird, but you get my point. These clips can actually clip onto things. I tried clipping it on the cover of my old hardcover moleskine planner, and it clips with ease.

The Zebra Airfit line of pens and pencils have been around for a while; I remember wanting one so badly when I was a kid. Unfortunately, they don’t really live up to my expectations — mostly because of the not air-cushion grip. I’m also not really a fan of ball point pens, but if I had to use a ball point pen, this one isn’t bad. If I had to walk around taking notes on a clipboard or notebook, this line of pens and pencils would be perfect, because of the clip. However, it’s not something I would repurchase.


 

Zebra Airfit (0.5 mm pencil, 0.7 mm pen)

Price: $5.00 each

Measurements:

    Pencil Tip In: 5.5 in / 14 cm    Tip Out: 5.7 in / 14.5 cm

    Pen Tip In: 5.6 in / 14.2 cm    Tip Out: 5.5 in / 14 cm

Recommend? If you like firmer grips and clippy clips, yes. Not for me though.

tl;dr: Firm grips, clippy clips, retractable tip, affordable, and lightweight. Pen tip is 0.7mm black ballpoint, and pencil takes 0.5mm lead.

Leave a Reply

