Grab Bag 2016

IMG_20160102_171559816

First thing’s first, HAPPY NEW YEAR!!!

To celebrate the new year, I went to J town with some friends to visit a temple. At this temple, we like to get our fortunes on slips of paper. This year, my fortune said “Very Good”, but everything listed on the paper was kind of terrible.

When there’s bad luck, you’re supposed to tie the fortune onto a wire or something like that, so the bad luck doesn’t stay with you. I’m not 100% sure how the tradition goes; Nuko probably has better insight on this topic.

Okay, now to the meat of this post. What’s that tote bag for Marlie? Dog Patch? What’s that? WELL, I’m glad someone asked (…no one asked). It’s my annual grab bag purchase from the Kinokuniya New Year’s sale. This year my grab bag came in a literal tote bag. More details after the jump. 

Okay. So these grab bags go for $10 a bag, buy 2 bags get the 3rd free. This year, I only bought one bag. To see last year’s bags, go here!

IMG_20160102_173759

So the above picture is everything that came inside the tote bag. I wasn’t too excited about some of the things in the bag.

Contents:

  • Dog Patch GIANT tote bag
  • Hacomo DIY Happy Wedding Decoration
  • Rainbow Pencil and Cloud Eraser Stand
  • Elephant “Have a Nice Day” decoration/diorama
  • Tiny Twin Bears File Folder
  • Squirrel Pouch
  • Pilot Frixion Pens (Blue + Black)
  • Miquelrius Notebook

To be honest, I don’t really care for the decorations. They’re cute, but not something I’d really ever use.

pixlr

The elephant decoration looks pretty well made. I love the pouch. It’s just so cute, and I’ve been looking for a pouch. It’s also surprisingly roomy.

Now, to the important stuff, STATIONERY.

IMG_20160102_172226950

Okay, if you know me, you can probably guess WHY I picked this bag. I saw the notebook and was immediately in love. It’s totally my style. I actually already had a set of Frixion pens. If you want to see a review of those pens, go here!

notebook closeup

Now that Notebook, absolutely gorgeous. The paper is thick and smooth, and I bet it could handle a fountain pen. There’s also four different colored sections in the notebook. The notebook alone retails for about $8. So was this grab bag worth it?

YEAH.

Leave a Reply

