Doraemon Chocolate Monaka

IMG_0298

I’m pretty much sure almost EVERYONE knows Doraemon now. I mean I knew they had this cartoon aired in like almost every asian country and now it has even come to America! I honestly didn’t think it was going to come to America since it’s been forever since Doraemon has been first aired in Japan. I was like OMGosh when I found this in MY HOUSE since I did not know we had this delightful treat until the day I found it. I’m assuming (?) that my mom brought it home from her work, since her work is somewhat related to these kind of stuff. Anyways…

IMG_0301A monaka is basically a treat that is sandwiched with wafers. In this case, the wafers sandwich a fluffy layer of chocolate inside. Those who’ve tried caplico before should know what I’m talking about. It’s basically caplico, but in a different form. I don’t know if it’s b/c I haven’t eaten these in a long time, but the inside is softer than how I remembered them to be. Also, the wafer is cute. Btw, this monaka is the same front and back. In my opinion, I feel that they should have Doraemon’s back on the back side, so it feels more like a full Doraemon lol. The taste isn’t too sweet either, so it turned out to be a good afternoon treat. I did consider showing you guys the inside too, but I just couldn’t do it since I thought it would look a bit brutal on camera. I didn’t want to cut a part of the head for sure. I thought of cutting part of the leg also, but figured that would look wrong too, especially b/c the wafers is shaped just like Doraemon.

IMG_0305

Speaking of Doraemon, I went to a Japanese grocery store during the weekend. They were trying to sell some instant Mapo doufu and was giving out this keychain for every purchase. Honestly, I was hesitant to buy it because I don’t really like the dish…but I ended up getting it. For some reason, I’m weak when it comes to these things because it seems free, but I basically paid $1.99 for a keychain. I don’t know if it’s just me, but this keychain looked more like the old Doraemon, before they changed the art & voices… That was basically what I grew up with, so I was like, I WANT! lol. Then, a couple of days later I found the wonderful snack at home, so it felt like fate ahaha. Okay I totally went off topic…

Rating: ★★★★☆

Leave a Reply

