New Year’s Grab Bags

grabbag 2

On New Year’s Day, my friends and I went to Kinokuniya, because I wanted a Haikyuu box. Unfortunately, they were all out, but as usual, there were plenty of other things to look at. I’m not sure if they do this at the beginning of every year, but this year they were selling clearance grab bags. Each grab bag was $10, buy 2 get 1 free. I ended up getting a few bags with Nuko (who bought them, thanks :] heehee).

So for $20, we got the above left bag, and 2 of the bag on the right. The 2 “right” bags were about identical, so there’s no need for me to go over both of them. Quick overview below!

grabbag1

Bag 1 (or left bag) Contents

  • Midori “bag in bag” purse organizer
  • 1 Sheri Lynn notebook
  • Arrow sticky notes
  • Midori “Seal Collection” stickers
  • Koala “Index Seal” (2 sheets of 6 in pack)
  • Zig laundry/fabric marker

Bag 1 didn’t have much inside, but I was really excited about the bag organizer. It gives large purses inner pockets, so the inside of my bag isn’t a ginormous mess. Okay, I’ll admit, I was swayed by the brand name, Midori. The Koala seals are really adorable, but I don’t know if I’d actually use them. I’m really reluctant to use cute stationery, because I don’t want to waste them on something I’d regret. I was too lazy to try and read all of the blacked-out price tags, but the price of the Midori organizer already makes up the cost. From what I can see of the tag, it was either priced $20 or $30 something originally.

Bag 2 (we got 2 of these)

  • 2 Kokuyo Campus notebooks
  • 2 Sheri Lynn notebooks
  • Whale “Thank You” card
  • Dog stickers (super cute!)
  • Enamel dots (60 on sheet)
  • Dog Key Cover (poodle)
  • 8 Souffle gel pens

The most important part of bag 2 is of course the Souffle gel pens! I’ve wanted these pens for a long time (try 5 years), but could never justify the purchase. If you’ve never heard of these pens, they’re supposed to be amazing for crafting. I will review them in the near future (review here). Before opening this bag, I was worried about whether the pens would actually work. This was a clearance sale, so the possibility of them being dry seemed high. Fortunately, they all worked, and some still had the little plastic coating on the tip. The price of the grab bag is already covered by the gel pens. I was also excited about the Campus notebooks. I’ve heard that they are fountain pen friendly, so I can’t wait to try them out. Maybe I’ll do a Campus notebook + Pilot Kakuno fountain pen review combo. I’ve been meaning to write a review anyway.

All in all, I would say we got a pretty good deal on our grab bags. I saw someone else get a grab bag with a Kokuyo tray pencil bag, and was super jealous. I would totally be up for buying a bag or two next year.

 

 

Leave a Reply

